Alignment

Have you ever gotten home from a long, but not stressful day, and flopped your tired body onto the couch while debating whether or not you should set an alarm for the nap that you’re about to take? Chances are, this has happened to you a few times throughout your life, if not on a regular basis. However, you have probably also experienced times in your life where you come home from an even longer day where you feel rejuvenated and energetic, even though your body should be exhausted.

 

Both of these circumstances are due to your alignment with your true self and your life purpose. Living your purpose, though sometimes you may feel resistant to it, gives you an unbreakable feeling of joy where you can’t help but flash a bright smile across your face. Those days where you go home and feel rejuvenated are the days that you are in alignment with your purpose. Being in alignment with yourself may make you feel like laughing, dancing, or jumping up and down with excitement. It’s like buying a brand new car, except unlike your car; your satisfaction and joy cannot be compromised because no one can access it except for you. Your car can be scratched, it can get damaged, and it can possibly be taken away from you, meanwhile you have 110% control over your own joy.

 

If you’re still not quite sure about what I’m talking about, you can always look at the things in your life that do not bring you these feelings. Many times the joy compressors in our life include our jobs, relationships, the food we eat, our lack of exercise, and lack of expression in the form of art and beauty. Obviously not everyone is in the position to quit their job tomorrow, or to stop talking to family members and friends cold turkey, but that doesn’t mean that they can’t start working towards aligning yourself with your purpose.

 

If there is something in your life that is compromising who you are, it is doing a disservice to you and you should take action towards removing them from your life. When you begin to eliminate things that bring stress to your life, you have more time and energy to focus on other things. This will not only give you time to find out what your purpose is, but it will give you the time to work on it.

 

Recently, I was out of town learning about and acquiring more tools of empowerment to share with those around me (more info to come later). During the two weeks, I was working/learning long hours with little time for sleeping and eating. However, I had more energy, focus, calmness, and creativity than I would normally have during my entire school year – because I was in alignment with my purpose. And during times when I am not in alignment with my purpose, like during the school year, my energy, my mind, my emotions, and my body are out of balance and I am not able to think and work optimally. Being out of alignment during busy times, such as exam season when I am drowning in textbooks, allows for stress and sickness to easily creep into my life. But when I am in alignment with my purpose and my passion, every challenge that I face does not have the power to bring stress into my life, as I am in alignment with myself and I am in control of my thoughts and emotions.

 

The take-home message is that you should look at how you spend your time. Look at how stressful your life is, and question if the stress is necessary. If you don’t spend the majority of your time doing something that you love (and I don’t mean watching the Bachelorette with a tub of ice cream), you should at least give yourself an expressive outlet according to what you feel is necessary. After time, you will see the importance of this outlet, and will change your lifestyle to serve your joy, rather than serve something that is draining your energy.

 

Essentially, if you do what you love, you will love what you do.

Leave a Reply

